45 PTK Members Receive Terry Scholarships

The Terry Foundation has awarded 72 transfer scholarships to students in Texas, and 45 of the recipients are members of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society.

The Terry Foundation is a Houston-based scholarship program founded to provide scholarships to outstanding Texas high school graduates and transfer students for attendance at designated public universities within the state. Established in 1986 by Houston philanthropists Howard and Nancy Terry, the Foundation has assisted thousands of Terry Scholars in meeting the Founders’ goal of helping Texas college students to help themselves. The Foundation began awarding the Terry Transfer Scholarship in 2013, and currently funds transfer students at 12 public universities in Texas.

Terry Scholars are selected based on three criteria: academic excellence, demonstrated leadership, and financial need. For fall 2019, the Foundation interviewed 180 transfer candidates and selected 72 Terry Transfer Scholars. A stipend-based scholarship, the Terry Foundation Transfer Scholarship is intended to cover approximately 65 percent of the full cost of college attendance for up to six semesters, with a minimum award of $14,000 for the 2019-2020 academic year.

Texas Phi Theta Kappa members to receive the 2019 Terry Scholarship include:

Blinn College
Teresa Bilyeu

Collin College
Yilin Chen
LaToya Darden
Dillon Heinen
Stacy Miranda
Rebecca Ventura

Dallas County Community College District
Aria Jones

Eastfield College (DCCD)
Poojakumari Patel

El Centro College (DCCD)
Yazmin Munoz
Stephen Woods

El Paso Community College
Christian Compian
Cinthya Magallanes
Bryan Mena

Hill College
Kaitlyn McDonald

Houston Community College
Hacer Afsar
Muhammad Shah

Lone Star College
Franco Lucero
Aurora Maceo Fernandez
Jennifer Pham
Kimberly Sanchez
Kaleena Steakle
Kimberly Wilson

McLennan Community College
Brandon Murry
Lauren Putnam

Mountain View College (DCCD)
Anisa Alam

North Central Texas College
David Jennings
Daniel McLean

North Lake College
Alexis Patterson
William Zamudio

Northwest Vista College (DCCD)
Fernando Cordova

Palo Alto College
Emoline Gonzales
Raechel Staffel

South Plains College
Paulina Carrillo
Brianna Jacops

St. Phillip’s College
Martha Vargas

Tarrant County College District
Daysy Guevara
Alice Kim
Alice Muhindura
Tracy Nava
Hetalbahen Patel
Mariah Rios
Anthony Torres

Tyler Junior College
Jennie Nghiem
Destiny White

Weatherford College
Ana Ortiz